Testimonials

I have worked Jodi Materna of Materna Law not once but three residential real estate transactions. Two purchases and one sale. I could not have asked for a more professional and knowledgeable team. I highly recommend Materna Law and I look forward to working with them again for future transactions.

Farhana A., Upper West Side, Manhattan- 8/30/17

 

Jodi was hired as our real estate attorney as we were going through the process of buying a commercial property in Manhattan. We decided to go with her firm on a recommendation, and what swayed us is that she was available in person if needed. We were not disappointed – Jodi and her assistant Brandi were very helpful in keeping us in the know regarding the sometimes frustrating process of buying a Manhattan-based commercial property. It is a solo law practice, so there is no cross coverage – but it didn’t affect us significantly as both Jodi and Brandi were very responsive and responsible, helping nudge us along when necessary. Jodi was prepared during the closing day and explained every step point by point. I recommend Jodi without reservations.

Dmitry M., Murray Hill, Manhattan- 8/22/17

 

Working with Jodi and her team on the closing of our apt was a really great experience. Purchasing an apt in NY is stressful and complicated. Jodi was always concise, polite and quick to respond.

– Cari H., Cobble Hill, Brooklyn- 8/21/17

 

Jodi and her firm helped me with purchasing my place. They were always responsive with helpful advice and active help, more so when issues arose with the other sides. I’ll happily use her services again, and would recommend her to my friends.

Omer S., Greenwich Village, Manhattan- 8/20/17

 

Jodi and her team were a godsend. We purchased a coop and they guided us through the process seamlessly. They even pushed hard (and succeeded) for a closing date that worked with our impending mortgage rate lock. Jodi was great at the closing, explaining all the documents without being condescending.

JonAlf D., Bronx- 8/4/17

 

We had Brandy and Jodi as our lawyers for buying a condo in Brooklyn. They explained to us the whole process from making an offer to signing the contract and the closing. They are very knowledgeable and helpful and were always available to answer any question we had on the contract. It made buying a property a smooth process for us.

– Jo W., Park Slope, Brooklyn- 7/24/17

 

Jodi represented my son and I in a recent condo purchase. She is very knowledgeable, personable and took the time to explain every step of the process. At closing, she was very organized and provided the right level of information that were needed on all documents signed by us. She is responsive and accessible when questions arise. Of note, Jodi represented my daughter and I in 2012 on a similar purchase. My experience with her then, made it easy for me to call her again.

Dal L., Fort Greene, Brooklyn- 7/7/17

 

 Jodi and her team were absolutely fabulous and professional. As I was doing this transaction while moving back into the country, Jodi truly looked out for us and gave great advice. The process could not be smoother. Plus the highest integrity. I would recommend her and her team to everyone!

Andy L., Midtown East, Manhattan- 6/26/17

 

 I have been fortunate to do a number of transactions with Jodi & her team. She is diligent, thorough, communicative, and has been a valued asset to my clientele. I truly enjoy her kind demeanor and professionalism, especially in a challenging situation. Personally, I hired Jodi as buyer’s attorney for my own purchase. Not a stone was left unturned, and I had zero questions left unanswered. Simply put, I always suggest Jodi first for my buyers, sellers, & investors.

Eric F., Westchester – 6/6/17

 

 I have known and worked with Jodi and her team over the past 4 years. I’ve had nothing but the best experience and professionalism from them in my real estate purchase, and sell transactions. They take time to explain the process, follow up on all the detailed items needed, and are available whenever I had questions. I highly recommend Jodi for anyone looking to buy or sell real estate.
 
Sam L., Upper East Side, Manhattan- 5/16/17
 
 
 We had the pleasure of being represented by Jodi and Brandy during our April 2017 sale of a New York City Co-op. The potential sale was stalling prior to engaging Materna Law. They immediately assumed a leadership role, coordinating all parties, ensuring all requirements were met while consistently demonstrating their expertise, knowledge, and professionalism in delivering a very successful closing. We highly recommend Materna Law and would not hesitate to engage their services again. Fantastic representation!
– Barry D., Murray Hill, Manhattan- 4/27/17
 
Jodi and Brandy represented us for our first home purchase in Queens. They put down extreme amount of time and effort to negotiate the terms we wanted. They are very knowledgeable and experienced. We highly recommend Jodi and Brandy!

– Jeff C., Fresh Meadows, Queens – 10/21/16

 

I worked with Jodi and Brandy to close on my first co-op in Manhattan in the spring/summer of 2016. They are highly knowledgeable, extremely professional, quick to respond, and eager to help.  They put me at ease as a first-time homebuyer – a pleasure to deal with. Jodi went above and beyond to make sure my deal closed and that things went smoothly. I will be recommending her to all my friends and colleagues looking to buy, and I will definitely use her when I move again.

– Ryan W., Greenwich Village, Manhattan – 7/15/16

 

As a Real Estate agent and an investor, I’ve had the opportunity to work with some of the best attorneys in NYC. Jodi Materna is right at the top of my list. No matter how complicated the transaction, Ms. Materna is always ready with a solution.  She’s never let me down.  Five Stars!

-Frank M., Real Estate Broker, NYC- 3/18/2016

xxx

It was also a pleasure for us to deal with someone so competent. As you know, house closings can be very nerve-wracking and having Jodi and Brandy take care of all the details made it a very relaxed experience. I would certainly recommend Materna Law to anyone I know who needs a real estate attorney.

Joyce W., Park Slope, Brooklyn- 1/13/16

 

You need look no further–you can’t do better than Jodi! Please don’t hesitate for a second to hire Jodi Materna. I closed on the sale of my UWS apartment in October 2015. From the negotiations with our buyer’s attorney to the signing of the contract to the closing (and tying up loose ends after) and everything in between, I was delighted with the degree of professionalism, courtesy, responsiveness (if I sent an email or left a voicemail I never had to wait long to hear back), patience, knowledge (and occasional hand-holding) that Jodi and her absolutely terrific paralegal Brandy provided me. I simply cannot say enough good things about them.

Noel F., Upper West Side, Manhattan- 12/11/15

 

We recently worked with Jodi and Brandy to close on a co-op apartment.  As is typical with real estate, things got a bit complicated with our deal and Materna Law was always on top of everything- and very quick to take our calls and respond to emails. Going into the closing we felt very confident having Jodi at our side- she was the most organized of the people at the table, and explained every document to us before we signed.  We got our neatly organized closing binder the next business day. Jodi and Brandy are a great team and I highly recommend them for real estate transactions.

Allie F., Bronx, NY- 8/19/2015

 

Incredibly thorough and a pleasure to have hired as my attorney. Jodi Materna has represented me in multiple deals and I can say that she is incredibly thorough. She is not only attentive and meticulous but has an incredible eye for detail. Every question I had was answered and explained clearly with ease. I was a referral to Jodi Materna’s office and I can safely say, that if I even hear someone say that they need a real estate attorney I make sure that they take her name and telephone number!

Dwayne C., Tribeca, NY- 8/6/2015

 

Highly Recommend! I am not usually one to write reviews online, but I had to let others know about my experience here. I went to Ms. Jodi Materna when I sold my apartment. She was not only incredibly professional and attentive, but she was also a wealth of knowledge! She is very well versed in all things real estate and gave me some very helpful advice. I was so impressed with her services that I used her again when I purchased another apartment. I have referred her to countless friends and co-workers, who also had a very positive experience. I cannot say enough good things about Ms. Jodi!

Alice R., Staten Island, NY- 7/8/2015

 

Jodi was the lawyer during my first homeowner purchase in NYC. She was extremely knowledgable and very responsive to all my questions during the entire process. She took the time to explain all the documentation to me. I would highly recommend Jodi.

Janaki Y., Upper West Side, Manhattan- 10/9/2014

 

I could not have made a better choice in opting to work with Ms. Materna. She represented me in my first home purchase and was both incredibly knowledgeable and patient throughout the process. She answered every question asked and was very detailed in representing my interests in the closing. Subsequently, I utilized her services for estate planning. Due to travel, the set-up of my will was on a tight time frame, but Ms. Materna still managed to make it a priority and get everything completed in advance. I would highly recommend her to friends and colleagues.

Gertrude B., Forest Hills- June 25, 2014

 

Working with Jodi Materna was a wonderful experience. She explained everything clearly and answered every question I had. She was extremely easy to understand and made the process simple and seamless. Ms. Materna was great to work with and I would highly recommend her.

Kittie F., Downtown Brooklyn- May 20, 2014

 

Thank you Materna Law, PLLC!!! Jodi M. Materna was very thorough in taking her time in making sure all my questions were answered. I highly recommend her! She saved me a great deal of money and helped me tremendously with my new condo.

Tina G., Battery Park City, NY- 8/6 2014

 

Jodi came highly recommended and I was not disappointed.  I found her and her paralegal to be extremely professional, efficient, knowledgable and overall very helpful.  I think Jodi goes above and beyond for her clients.  Her office has always been responsive and turned documents around quickly no matter how busy she is (she is in high demand).  I had one unusually difficult deal and she helped us to navigate through it and close without any problems. I was confident that I had the best representation possible.  I will be recommending Jodi Materna to everyone I know.

Alexandra D., Albertson, NY6/14/2015

 

She was extremely diligent in getting back my contract deposit when I was unable to obtain financing on my cooperative apartment. Her knowledge, skill and passion of real estate law was exceptional.

Anna G., Soho- 4/21/14

 

Working with Ms. Materna was an absolute pleasure. She was very organized and I never had an issue getting in touch with her. She had great attention to detail and was very professional. I will certainly use her again when I purchase another property.

Fabianne T., Financial District, NY- 5/20/14

 

As a first-time home buyer, closing can be both daunting and difficult to navigate for a novice. Ms. Materna is not only an expert her legal field, but incredibly patient in working through the process. She was readily accessible at all times and no question was too small for her to work through. I would highly recommend her services to anyone and will definitely use her for future deals.

M. Chin, Dyker Heights- 6/25/14